Skip to content ↓

Key Info


At TMBSS we believe that it is always unacceptable for a child or young person to experience abuse of any kind and recognise that safeguarding the welfare of all children and young people is everyone’s responsibility. We follow Shropshire Safeguarding Community Partnership (SSCP) procedures and acknowledge that the welfare of the child is paramount. At TMBSS it is our duty to respond promptly and appropriately to all concerns, incidents or allegations of abuse or neglect of a child. We work in partnership with children, young people, their parents, carers and other agencies.

Safeguarding legislation and government guidance says that safeguarding means:

  • Protecting children from maltreatment
  • Preventing impairment of children’s health or development
  • Ensuring that children are growing up in circumstances consistent with the provision of safe and effective care
  • Taking action to enable all children and young people to have the best outcome

Safeguarding includes child protection, health care plans, health and safety, site security, safety on school trips, anti-bullying work and so much more.

The school adheres to the following three DFE safeguarding documents:

  • Working Together to Safeguard Children 2018
  • Keeping Children Safe in Education 2021
  • The Prevent Duty 2015

TMBSS Safeguarding Team

  • James Pearson – Assistant Head (Senior Designated Safeguarding Lead)
  • Emma Spelman – Pupil Welfare and Safeguarding Manager (Deputy Safeguarding Lead)
  • Jodie Prophet – Family Support Worker (Deputy Safeguarding Lead)

Deputy Safeguarding Leads





James Pearson

Andrew Rudge

Alison Harper

Claire Vaughan

Lisa Garside

Kim Fawke

Emma Wainwright

Rebecca Watters

Elaine Aston

Lisa Bloomer

Emma Spelman

Melicia Dewhurst

Ruth Hatton

Debbie Tipton

Gemma Parkes

Jodie Prophet





Greg Portman

Helen Pope

Andre Savchenko

Tracey Caldicott

Catherine Lyth

Elie Miles

Adrian Pople

Helen Portman

Matt Brown

Kath Nicholas (PM)

Karen Angell

Jane Fogg

Kath Ridgway

Adam Bloomer

Alan Lacey

Kath Nicholas (AM)

Chloe Davies